Did you know that Grana Padano is naturally lactose-free? That’s right! The absence of lactose in Grana Padano D.O.P is a consequence of its natural production process, which has rigorously official specification rules. This means that if you are intolerant to lactose you can consume Grana Padano without problems.
“Grana” due to its texture, “grana” means “grainy” in Italian. “Padano” from the production area in the “Pianura Padana”, the Po River Valley in northern Italy. Grana Padano D.O.P. is obtained starting with what the cow eats: green preserved fodders from a specific area on the valley. They collect their milk twice a day from cow, raw milk that is milked twice per day. That milk is used to start the production of the cheese, from the shaping of the wheel to its aging process that takes a minimum of sixteen months.